4th

Passion. I am to make a presentation on what I am passionate about. Piece of cake. Well, not really.

I’m just in Cambridge, looking at my boyfriend doing his maths papers and I am kind of tempted to do a presentation on him. But then I’m thinking that would be quite creepy (although quite funny too, in fact).

What am I passionate about? Warmth, probably (especially now, that I’m freezing, I feel particularly fond of warmth). Or dinosaurs. Or alcohol. Or Poland. Or old Disney animations. Or books. Or Dostoevsky. Maybe I should do that on him and present this charming photo at the beginning.

Yeah, that’s right, I went to Russia because of him. Well, not only because of him, but seeing his house in St Petersburg was one of the greatest experiences ever. And it’s not just the fact that it was his factual house, where he worked and wrote most of his amazing books, but also it’s that the museum itself is so damn good. It was amazing for me to read his opinions on the european cities he went to in his life and to find that my views on them are exactly the same.

And yes, I am aware of the fact that getting that excited about quotations of someone who is already dead is somehow nerdy and weird.

Nevertheless, I am enclosing some photos of how the museum looks like.

The first picture is, obviously, an old photograph showing how it used to look. As you can see, the recreated version is almost identical.

The museum part that consist of his letters, photographs, artpieces, various small items and some historical information about the authors that Dostoyevsky found influential is a very modern- looking and interestingly layed out room. Even though in some cases I felt there was too little information and I craved for more, I was still very satisfied with what I learned about him and his life. It was all very visual, too.

On the top of all that, there was also an art exhibition going on at that time featuring various illustrations to Dostoevsky’s books. Unfortunately, taking photos was forbidden (and it’s better not to mess with Russians) and I, sadly, forgot all the authors’ names. Still, it was amazing.

Ok, I could go on for ages about his every book separately and about his literary output in general, but I won’t and let it be the end of this post. Suddenly it occurred to me that Disney will probably be much more interesting to the public.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

